Welcome to Coomandook Area School

We are a small Area School that provides quality teaching and learning within a caring and safe environment from Reception to Year 12. | Our School



Before Coomandook Area School existed, there were seven small primary schools in the small towns across the district. Students wishing to access secondary education had to travel to Murray Bridge or Adelaide.

After much discussion (and argument) amongst the towns, the State Government decided to build an Area School at Coomandook.

The first students, 135 primary and 38 secondary, arrived at the newly established Coomandook Area School for the first term in 1961, after the primary schools at Cooke Plains, Coomandook, Ki Ki, Moorlands and Yumali closed in 1960. The Sherlock School closed later.  Students from Coonalpyn Primary School (still in operation today) were also brought to Coomandook for their secondary schooling after the establishment of the Area School. 

Mr John Steinle was appointed as the first Principal. John later became the Director-General of Education in South Australia. Five teachers were appointed that first year who were also the school bus drivers and transported students from outlying areas to and from the school.

The local communities showed vision in obtaining a better education for their children and continue to strongly support the school and its students. The school has a proud academic tradition and the students of this school continue to be successful.

The logo for our school is the Boomerang, Compass and Southern Cross. The Boomerang denotes the distance the students travel daily to and from school, the Compass signifies that our students come from all points of the compass, from the small towns and communities across a wide district.

Our motto is an Aboriginal word, ‘Warrendi’ meaning ‘to seek’. Our school constantly seeks to improve teaching and learning and is supported by our Mission Statement ‘Striving to make the difference’.

(Reference: Harnessing Horsepower: the life and times of the people within the District Council of Peake: Elizabeth Nicholls, 2001)